Government contracts for minority owned businesses and 8(a) set-aside contracts for bid
Government contracts for minority owned businesses do not come from a federal "minority" set-aside, because there is none. They come from three places: the SBA 8(a) program, small business and HUBZone set-asides that any qualifying firm may bid, and state and city programs such as New York City's M/WBE certification. FederalContracts reads every new federal notice the morning after it posts, scores it out of 100 against your NAICS codes, capabilities, states and 8(a) status, and puts the bids you can actually win at the top of one short list.
That matters more in 2026 than it did three years ago. The 8(a) pipeline has shrunk sharply, and a minority owned firm that only watches 8(a) notices now sees a few dozen a month.
| Match | Solicitation and agency | NAICS | Set-aside | Place of performance | Response due |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 89 | INSCOM G-2 Access Control and Security Escorts (ACES) | 561612 | 8(a) | Fort Belvoir, Virginia | 4 Nov |
| 77 | Munitions Maintenance and Inspection Facility and Conventional Munitions Cube Storage Addition, HIANG, JBPHH, HI | 236220 | Total small business | Not stated | 28 Oct |
| 77 | Design Build Markey DC0094ZZ Multi Floor Interior Finish Improvements | 236220 | 8(a) | Washington, District of Columbia | 11 Nov |
| 75 | Fort Benning Base Operations - W5168W26RA015 | 561210 | Total small business | Not stated | 13 Nov |
| 75 | Fort Stewart Base Operations - W5168W26RA014 | 561210 | Total small business | Not stated | 13 Nov |
Where do minority owned businesses find government contracts?
Minority owned businesses find federal contracts on SAM.gov under Contract Opportunities, filtered by the set-aside types "8(a) Set-Aside" and "8(a) Sole Source", plus "Total Small Business Set-Aside" and HUBZone in their NAICS codes. State, county and city bids sit on each government's own portal, where MBE or M/WBE certification can count toward participation goals.
We counted the SAM.gov public data extract on October 14, 2026: distinct open solicitations with a response date still ahead, each solicitation number counted once.
| Open federal solicitations on October 14, 2026 | Count | Who may bid |
|---|---|---|
| All open solicitations | 5,034 | Depends on the set-aside |
| No set-aside (full and open) | 2,947 | Any responsible firm |
| Total small business set-aside | 1,647 | Any small business in the NAICS size standard |
| SDVOSB set-aside | 221 | Service disabled veteran owned small businesses |
| HUBZone set-aside | 103 | Certified HUBZone firms, any owner |
| WOSB and EDWOSB set-aside | 90 | Certified women owned small businesses |
| 8(a) set-aside, including sole source | 15 | Current 8(a) program participants |
Over the 30 days before that count, buying offices posted 39 new 8(a) solicitations, against 4,790 total small business set-asides and 161 HUBZone set-asides. For most minority owned firms, the small business pool is where the volume is, and 8(a) is the short, high value list on top of it.
Government contracts for minorities after the 2025 and 2026 8(a) changes
- No race based presumption. Since the 2023 Ultima Services ruling, SBA cannot presume social disadvantage from race. Applicants make an individual, fact specific showing, and SBA guidance in January 2026 runs the program as race neutral.
- The SDB goal went back to 5 percent. On January 24, 2025, SBA reset the small disadvantaged business goal from 15 percent to the statutory floor of 5 percent of prime contract dollars. Agencies actually awarded 11.6 percent to SDBs in fiscal 2025, down from 12.3 percent a year earlier.
- A smaller 8(a) roster. In December 2025 SBA asked about 4,300 participants for three years of financial records. On January 28, 2026 it suspended 1,091 firms that had not sent them, and by March it had started termination proceedings against 782.
- Fewer 8(a) notices. Agencies are reviewing large 8(a) awards, and the count above shows the result: 15 open 8(a) solicitations out of 5,034.
None of this closes federal work to minority owned firms. It moves the work into the small business, HUBZone and full and open pools, where you compete on fit, price and past performance. A list that ranks those pools against your capabilities is now worth more than an 8(a) only search.
Which agencies post 8(a) contracts right now
Of the 15 open 8(a) solicitations on October 14, 2026, eight came from the Department of Defense. The list reads like a construction and base operations firm's pipeline, the same kind of work that fills government construction contracts and DoD contract opportunities.
- Construction and renovation. An Air Force SABER construction program, a loading dock entrance renovation for the Navy, a design build interior finish project for GSA's Public Buildings Service in Washington, and an Army flooring IDIQ.
- Base and facility operations. Base operations support at Fort Leonard Wood and wastewater pretreatment plant operation for the Bureau of Engraving and Printing.
- Professional services. Technical services support at the Department of Energy, mission support services for the Air Force Research Laboratory in Ohio, architect and engineering services for Federal Prison Industries, and the 8(a) pool of GSA's OASIS+ contract.
- Security and health. Access control and security escorts for Army intelligence in Virginia, overseas medical services for the Defense Health Agency, and a sole source hospital care notice at NIH in Montana.
If your codes are 236220, 561210, 561612 or 541990, 8(a) notices still show up every week. In most other codes they are rare, which is exactly why missing one hurts.
How the 8(a) program and other preference programs work
- 8(a) eligibility. The firm is at least 51 percent unconditionally owned and controlled by one or more socially and economically disadvantaged US citizens of good character, is small in its primary NAICS code, and has the potential to perform. The program term is nine years.
- Economic limits. The disadvantaged owner's adjusted personal net worth must be under 850,000 USD, average adjusted gross income over three years at or under 400,000 USD, and total assets at or under 6.5 million USD.
- Sole source ceilings. Under FAR 19.805-1, an 8(a) contract must be competed among participants once it is expected to exceed 8.5 million USD for manufacturing or 5.5 million USD for other work, options included. Below that, the agency may award it sole source.
- Small disadvantaged business status. An SDB self represents in SAM.gov. There is no SDB set-aside, but agencies count SDB prime and subcontract dollars toward their goals, which makes SDBs attractive teaming partners.
- HUBZone. HUBZone eligibility depends on where your office and employees are, not on who owns the firm. Many minority owned firms in urban and rural HUBZones qualify and never apply.
- State and city MBE programs. Minority business enterprise certifications from states, cities and transit agencies count only on those governments' contracts. They do not make you eligible for federal set-asides.
The set-asides explained guide covers how each federal set-aside type is chosen and who may bid.
How 8(a) and small business bid matching works
- Set your status to 8(a) or small business. Add your NAICS codes, the states you work in and a line about what you do: design build renovation, base operations, security guards, IT support, medical staffing.
- We read every new notice. Each federal solicitation, presolicitation and sources sought is read in full the morning after it posts, not only the title.
- 8(a) set-asides rank first when they fit. An 8(a) notice in your codes scores higher than a full and open one, total small business and HUBZone set-asides you qualify for come next, and notices set aside for a status you do not hold drop off the list.
- You get one short list with the reason. Scope fit, set-aside, place of performance and days left to respond, plus the award history of similar contracts, so you see which 8(a) or small business firm won the last one.
Who pays for an 8(a) and small business bid list
- 8(a) construction and facilities firms. SABER, renovation and base operations notices come out a few at a time, and the competitive 8(a) window is short. You need them the morning they post.
- Minority owned firms that left 8(a) or never joined. Graduated, suspended or never certified, you still bid small business and full and open work. The list ranks that larger pool against your capabilities.
- SDB and HUBZone firms building a teaming pipeline. Prime contractors with SDB subcontracting goals look for partners on the same notices. Seeing the solicitation early is how you get the call before the bid is due.
- New York City M/WBE certified firms. The Capture plan adds bids from the New York City Record next to the federal list, so a certified firm sees city and federal work in one place.
Ways minority owned businesses find government contracts compared
| Option | What you get | What it costs | Where it falls short |
|---|---|---|---|
| SAM.gov saved searches | Every notice filtered by 8(a), HUBZone or NAICS, emailed raw | No charge | |
| MBDA Business Centers, APEX Accelerators, SBA district offices | Certification help, bid reviews, matchmaking events | No charge | |
| Research databases | Award history, forecasts, contacts | HigherGov from 500 USD a year, GovTribe from 1,500 USD a year, GovWin IQ quoted in five figures | |
| FederalContracts | Federal notices scored out of 100 against your codes, states and 8(a) status, with the reason and deadline | 129 USD a month, or 768 USD a year on Bid Desk |
The free counseling programs are worth using for certification and proposal reviews. The paid part is the hour every morning a small firm does not have to read SAM.gov.
What a minority owned firm gets on each plan
- Bid Desk, 129 USD a month or 768 USD a year. Federal solicitations, 1 company profile, 3 seats, 5 saved searches, a daily ranked digest, deadline reminders and 3 years of competitor award history.
- Capture, 349 USD a month or 2,088 USD a year. Federal solicitations plus New York City bids from the City Record, 5 business lines (for example construction and facility services as separate lines), 15 seats, per business line digests, full award history with exports, Slack and Teams alerts and a read API.
Every plan feature is on pricing. Annual billing costs half of twelve monthly payments.
How can a minority owned business get government contracts?
A minority owned business gets government contracts by registering in SAM.gov, confirming it is small in its NAICS codes, and bidding total small business set-asides, plus 8(a) and HUBZone notices if it is certified. Start with simplified acquisitions and sources sought responses, which build the past performance agencies look for on larger awards.
Are there government contracts set aside for minorities?
No federal contract is set aside for minorities as such. The 8(a) program sets contracts aside for socially and economically disadvantaged owners, judged case by case since 2023, and state and city MBE programs set participation goals on their own contracts. Most federal work a minority owned firm wins is small business or full and open.
Is 8(a) certification still worth it in 2026?
8(a) certification is still worth it if your codes are ones agencies set aside, such as construction, base operations and security, because competition is limited to participants and sole source awards run up to 5.5 million USD for services. Expect a document heavy application and annual reviews, and keep bidding small business work alongside it.
What percentage of government contracts go to minority owned businesses?
The federal goal for small disadvantaged businesses is 5 percent of prime contract dollars, the statutory floor SBA reset in January 2025. Agencies awarded 11.6 percent of prime contract dollars to SDBs in fiscal 2025. On October 14, 2026, 0.3 percent of open SAM.gov solicitations carried an 8(a) set-aside.
What is the difference between MBE and 8(a)?
MBE certification comes from a state, city or private council and counts toward minority participation goals on that body's contracts. 8(a) is an SBA program for federal contracts, based on social and economic disadvantage with net worth, income and asset limits. An MBE certificate does not qualify a firm for federal 8(a) set-asides.
How long does 8(a) certification take?
SBA aims to decide an 8(a) application within 90 days of receiving a complete file, and the clock restarts when it asks for more documents. Plan on several months in practice, and bid small business set-asides in the meantime so the pipeline does not wait on the decision.
See today's 8(a) and small business bids ranked for your company
Type your NAICS codes, states and capabilities in Bid Match above and set your status to 8(a) or small business. It ranks a dated snapshot of public federal solicitation records against them, so you see the list you would get each morning before you pay anything.
Related reading: small business government contracting opportunities, government contracts for women owned businesses, government contracts for veterans, government security contracts, government contract alerts.